Divorce Guide

Divorce Guide


Uncontested Divorce in Louisiana


Uncontested divorce in Louisiana is the legal dissolution of marriage that is based on the no fault concept. It helps a distressed couple to terminate their relationship in a cordial way as compared to other forms of divorce. Moreover, it possesses divorce laws defined by the state under section 102 and 103 no-fault action that assists the applicant to have Louisiana uncontested divorce.

What are the Requirements to File an Uncontested Divorce in Louisiana?

An uncontested divorce in Louisiana does not involve disputes relating custody, property, alimony or any other grounds. A person seeking legal separation from his/her spouse can file a Louisiana uncontested divorce by self, if he/she fulfills the basic residency requirements. To file a fault or no-fault divorce in Louisiana, it is very necessary for the applicant to have lived in the state for a year or a longer period. Besides, filing the required papers and divorce applications must be filed in the local community where the person lives.

What are the General Grounds for Louisiana Uncontested Divorce?

There are no pre-set rules or set grounds for an uncontested divorce in Louisiana. But a covenant marriage is likely to have certain pre-defined assumptions. These are as under:

  • Living separately for two years or more after the date of the filing the divorce
  • Adultery
  • Death sentence or imprisonment for crime
  • Physical or sexual mistreatment
  • Desertion for a year or more

Divorce Laws for Uncontested Divorce in Louisiana

Many cases are unique that may require a variety of methods to obtain an uncontested divorce in Louisiana. Most of the divorces in Louisiana are filed under 102 or 103 no fault uncontested actions. In a no-fault divorce application filed under section 102, the respondents are served with a divorce petition filed by the opposed spouse. However, it is essential for the spouses to demonstrate at a hearing that they have lived apart for 180 days, before finalizing the divorce.

On the other hand, the 103 no-fault actions is another way for the troubled couples to obtain a split-up under Louisiana law. For this, it is essential for a married duo to have lived separately for duration of 180 days. This process doesn't require the filing of any supplementary motions further than the initial petition.

How to File an Uncontested Divorce in Louisiana?

  • Make sure that both the spouses meet the residency requirements to file for an uncontested divorce in Louisiana.
  • As Louisiana allows a no-fault divorce, a couple must have lived apart for at least 6 months to file a divorce request.
  • Eligibility for satisfactory divorce grounds like adultery or a crime, wherein the spouse has been sentenced to death or imprisonment.
  • Get hold of the appropriate divorce papers from the district court that must include contact information of both the spouses and marriage details.
  • The required fee for the divorce petition has to be paid with Louisiana district court along with the required paperwork.
  • In case of financial crisis, a divorce applicant can file a financial privation form to get the fee waived.

Generally, any divorce is not a pleasant process and involve lots of emotional turmoil. However, an uncontested divorce in Louisiana helps to avoid attorney fees and other expenses; provided it is uncontested by the other spouse too.


Divorce Guide

Divorce Advice
Divorce Laws
Divorce Mediation
File for Divorce
DIY Divorce
Getting a Divorce
Divorce Guide for Men
Divorce Guide for Women
Divorce Child Support
Divorce Questions
Divorce Counseling
Divorce Alimony
Divorce Custody
Divorce Support
Divorce Rights
No Fault Divorce
Divorce Settlement
Divorce Papers
Fast Divorce
Uncontested Divorce
Quick Divorce
Collaborative Divorce
Divorce Cases
Divorce Paperwork
Divorce Procedures
Low Cost Divorce
Divorce Court
Divorce Petition
Stop Divorce
Cheap Divorce Lawyers Divorce Court Records


Divorce in Australia


Divorce in Europe



About Us : Contact Us : Privacy Policy
© All Rights Reserved, Divorce Guide