Divorce Guide

Divorce Guide


Texas uncontested divorce


Texas uncontested divorce helps a distressed married couple to separate on no-fault basis. It is mandatory for the applicant to file the divorce appeal to the divorce court where he/she resides. To file an uncontested divorce in Texas, one of the spouses has to be a resident of Texas for minimum uninterrupted six months.

The proceedings for an uncontested divorce in Texas begins when one party serves the other party with original petition for divorce. Entire process is handled by a sheriff or a private law firm that involves various forms. All the required forms have to be filled and answered within twenty days or so.

Sometimes, it is possible for an individual to file a divorce petition in Texas State without hiring an attorney. However, some may not find it practical and would oppose it. Thus it is better to go for an uncontested divorce in Texas State. It is a divorce where both parties agree all the terms of divorce. An uncontested divorce assists to split-up easily, as the couple seeking separation consent on various issues like property, legal proceedings and child custody.

How to file an uncontested divorce in Texas:

  • File a request at the clerk of Texas County’s office of your neighboring courthouse.
  • File the waiver of all the illustrations together with your request. It means the other party has got a photocopy of the divorce petition that does not require official serve by sheriff.
  • A complete divorce declaration is arranged by the judge where both parties have to appear in court to sign the decree.
  • Further, a waiting period of around sixty days has to be passed to settle all the agreements involved in the divorce process.
  • When the waiting period is over, a final hearing is planned where both the spouses has to appear in court to answer questions from the judge.

Grounds for Texas state uncontested divorce:

Usually, a couple looks for legal dissolution of their marriage when it becomes unbearable for them to live together due to disagreement of personalities. Besides, if both the parties have been living separately for three years, they may file a petition for divorce. In both the case, an uncontested divorce proves helpful to reconcile cordially provided they fulfill all the legal grounds defined by Texas state legislature. To file an uncontested divorce in Texas State, a person should fulfill the following grounds:

  • Adultery
  • Abandonment
  • Confinement for incurable insanity for over three years
  • Conviction of a felony and imprisonment for over one year
  • Cruel and inhuman treatment.

On the whole, Texas uncontested divorce saves time as well expenses as both the spouses agreeably admit all the legal matters. Besides 6 months reside before filing of divorce petition, it is very necessary for one of the spouses to reside in the county of divorce filing for at least 90 days. Timely filling of uncontested divorce forms and answering it helps to settle the legal matters in a less duration compared to contested divorce.


Divorce Guide

Divorce Advice
Divorce Laws
Divorce Mediation
File for Divorce
DIY Divorce
Getting a Divorce
Divorce Guide for Men
Divorce Guide for Women
Divorce Child Support
Divorce Questions
Divorce Counseling
Divorce Alimony
Divorce Custody
Divorce Support
Divorce Rights
No Fault Divorce
Divorce Settlement
Divorce Papers
Fast Divorce
Uncontested Divorce
Quick Divorce
Collaborative Divorce
Divorce Cases
Divorce Paperwork
Divorce Procedures
Low Cost Divorce
Divorce Court
Divorce Petition
Stop Divorce
Cheap Divorce Lawyers Divorce Court Records


Divorce in Australia


Divorce in Europe



About Us : Contact Us : Privacy Policy
© All Rights Reserved, Divorce Guide