Divorce Guide

Divorce Guide


Quick divorce in New Jersey


When it comes to divorce, each and every state has its own laws and requirements. The state of New Jersey offers divorce on both fault grounds as well as no-fault grounds. Generally couples seeking for a quick divorce in New Jersey go for divorce on no-fault grounds. This saves the couples from the lengthy painful processes of divorce. Couples just need to follow NJ divorce guidelines and the basic requirements.

Residency requirements:

Spouses can file for a divorce in New Jersey, only if either of them has resided in the state for a minimum period of one year prior to divorce filing. If adultery is the ground for divorce then this one year residential requirement is not mandatory. A person can file for divorce from the country she/he is residing or where the respective spouse is residing or the country where the grounds for divorce took place.

Grounds for divorce in New Jersey:

No-fault Divorce: spouses must be living apart and separate for a period of one year six months without any possibility of reconciliation (spouses must be living in separate residencies).

General divorce:

New Jersey divorce laws enforce the following grounds for divorce:

  • Willful desertion
  • Habitual drunkenness or addiction
  • Extreme physical and mental cruelty
  • Deviant sexual conduct
  • Imprisonment for 18 months
  • Insanity for at least two years

How to get a quick divorce in New Jersey:

  • In order to obtain the complaint for divorce, you need to go to New Jersey clerk’s office. In New Jersey, “Complaint” is referred to the document initiating the divorce. You also need to state the grounds for divorce.
  • You need to pay a filing fee of $160 while filing the complaint. In case you have children, you are required to pay an extra fee for parenting education course.
  • You need to wait till your spouse answer the complaint. Your spouse has 35 days to file a written response. If both of you are undergoing no-fault divorce this time period gets reduced.
  • Both the parties need to file Case Information Statements (CIS). This statement is used to identify all your assets and liabilities. You also need to supply your tax returns, bank statements and pay stubs. File with the court once all gets completed.
  • A hearing date for your case is scheduled by the court. Go to the hearing. You don’t need to appear in the court, if your divorce uncontested. A signed divorce decree will be sent to you after your divorce gets granted.

For a quick divorce in New Jersey you can also go for “do it yourself” divorce. This is an accurate, easy to use, and up to date online divorce service. With the help of such online services you can eliminate the stress and expenses related to your divorce. No lawyers are involved and you can have full control over your case. The only thing required is that your case must be uncontested. You and your spouse must go for a prior settlement to all divorce related before filing of the case. This makes your case simple and fast.


Divorce Guide

Divorce Advice
Divorce Laws
Divorce Mediation
File for Divorce
DIY Divorce
Getting a Divorce
Divorce Guide for Men
Divorce Guide for Women
Divorce Child Support
Divorce Questions
Divorce Counseling
Divorce Alimony
Divorce Custody
Divorce Support
Divorce Rights
No Fault Divorce
Divorce Settlement
Divorce Papers
Fast Divorce
Uncontested Divorce
Quick Divorce
Collaborative Divorce
Divorce Cases
Divorce Paperwork
Divorce Procedures
Low Cost Divorce
Divorce Court
Divorce Petition
Stop Divorce
Cheap Divorce Lawyers Divorce Court Records


Divorce in Australia


Divorce in Europe



About Us : Contact Us : Privacy Policy
© All Rights Reserved, Divorce Guide