Divorce Guide

Divorce Guide


How to get a quick divorce in Texas?


Divorce rate has increased tremendously in Texas. There are many divorcing couples seeking for a fast and easy divorce. A common question raised by them is how to get a quick divorce in Texas?

The divorce law of Texas offers both fault and no-fault divorce. In a fault divorce one needs to prove the wrongdoings of his/her partner in the court. Proving these grounds is not easy and such a case may take years to get resolved.

So in order to obtain a quick divorce in Texas, your divorce must be no-fault and uncontested. You might not need a lawyer for such a divorce. This holds true even if you are having children. Many online divorce kits and services are available that provide guidance for filing paperwork in the Texas court.

How to get a quick divorce in Texas?

  • For a quick divorce in Texas you and your spouse must discuss and agree on all divorce related issues. Decide who will get what before filing for a petition.
  • If your divorce is uncontested and you don’t want to spend much, then go for a do it yourself divorce without a lawyer.
  • Websites such as DivorceLawTexas.com provides divorce kits with genuine forms and instructions that you require to file for divorce. Such websites also provide paralegals to fill your divorce forms. The cost involved is less.
  • Fill all your divorce forms and papers.
  • State reasons for your no-fault divorce in Texas.
  • File your papers in the country court. You need to wait for a period of 60 days to get your divorce finalized.

Steps for filing an uncontested divorce in Texas are as follows:

  1. The petition must be filed at the country clerk’s office of your courthouse. This petition consists ground for your divorce and also addresses all divorce issues like assets, property disputes, alimony, child support and child visitation and so on. You also need to pay a filing fee of $250 to $300. In case you cannot afford paying the filing fee, you are required to submit an affidavit stating that you are unable to pay the fee and the judge may wave it.
  2. Along with your petition, file the waiver of citation. Waver of citation means that the other party need not to be officially served by the sheriff or constable as the party has already received a copy of the divorce petition.
  3. There is a waiting period of 60 days imposed on final decrees of divorce. The final decree is prepared by the judge and both the divorcing parties appear in the court to sign it. This is the final document in divorce and is almost same as petition that outlines all the agreements enforced in the divorce. A final hearing is scheduled after the waiting period is over.

How to get a quick divorce in Texas is answered here. The process of divorce becomes easy and simple if both the parties come to an agreement on divorce issues. An uncontested and no-fault divorce saves your time and money.


Divorce Guide

Divorce Advice
Divorce Laws
Divorce Mediation
File for Divorce
DIY Divorce
Getting a Divorce
Divorce Guide for Men
Divorce Guide for Women
Divorce Child Support
Divorce Questions
Divorce Counseling
Divorce Alimony
Divorce Custody
Divorce Support
Divorce Rights
No Fault Divorce
Divorce Settlement
Divorce Papers
Fast Divorce
Uncontested Divorce
Quick Divorce
Collaborative Divorce
Divorce Cases
Divorce Paperwork
Divorce Procedures
Low Cost Divorce
Divorce Court
Divorce Petition
Stop Divorce
Cheap Divorce Lawyers Divorce Court Records


Divorce in Australia


Divorce in Europe



About Us : Contact Us : Privacy Policy
© All Rights Reserved, Divorce Guide