Getting divorce in Tennessee
For getting a divorce in Tennessee you must understand the laws and regulations of divorce process in Tennessee. These are some important points to keep in mind while getting a divorce in Tennessee. They are as follow:
- You or your spouse must be staying in Tennessee State for at least six months to file for divorce. A divorce case starts when one spouse files a petition for divorce. You have to file the divorce papers in a county where either you or your partner resides.
- Tennessee undergoes both no-fault and fault divorces process to take a divorce. For a ‘no-fault’ divorce, the ground for the divorce is that there are irreconcilable differences in the marriage. You can also show that you and your spouse is living separate for two years.
- For no fault divorce you and your spouse need to agree on child support, child custody, and property and debt distribution issues.
- There is nearly 60 days waiting period for no-fault divorce before divorce is granted. This waiting period increases to 90 days if you have a minor child.
- For ‘fault’ divorce process grounds include adultery,desertion,cruel and inhumane treatment, criminal background ,and drug or drinking addiction
There are some key instructions for getting a divorce in Tennessee. They are as follow.
- Meet all the residency requirements. Make the important documents for the divorce.
- File the petition for divorce in the civil court's county clerk's office. This document gives the information about the grounds for the divorce to the court and the also parties involved in the process.
- Pay the filing fee to the clerk when you are filing the Petition for divorce. This fee is for the registration of the case.
- Present the property distribution agreement to the court. This will help the court to know that the two spouses have come to a legal settlement about how the debt and the property will be divided after the divorce is approved.
- Submit a mutually agreed parenting plan to the court. This becomes court's highest priority when you are having a minor child at the time of divorce. It will help to keeps the decision making with you rather than the court.
- The court can order the payment from one spouse to another for spousal support. A court can order alimony to either the spouses. To decide spousal support amount, a court will generally consider following factors as:
- Relative earning capacity, needs, and financial assets of each spouse.
- Education and training of each spouse.
- Marriage span
- Mental and physical circumstance of each spouse
- Separate property
- Distribution of the marital property.
- Standard of living.
- Contributions to the marriage.
- Relative fault of spouse.
- Tax consequences.
- Take the final decree of divorce from the Tennessee family court. Once the judge analyzes your documents the court will finalize the divorce and issue its final decree.
These guidelines will defiantly help to give you knowledge about the Tennessee divorce process.
File for Divorce
Getting a Divorce
Divorce Guide for Men
Divorce Guide for Women
Divorce Child Support
No Fault Divorce
Low Cost Divorce
Cheap Divorce Lawyers
Divorce Court Records
Divorce in Australia
Divorce in Europe