Divorce procedures in Texas
Divorce procedures in Texas follow the Texas divorce laws. Divorce hearings are made in the Texas divorce court. The county clerk is responsible for maintaining the divorce records once the divorce is finalized. These records include divorce certificates and final decree. They are easily viewed by public. Many websites provide the service for people to search for Texas public divorce court records.
The divorce procedures start by filing the petition and ends when final decree is signed by the judge. The person filing the petition is called petitioner and the other person is called respondent. Like any other state, Texas has its own family law court. The law states that one should follow the residential requirements and fulfill the grounds before filing the divorce
Residential requirement: one of the spouses had been the resident of Texas for at least 6 months before filing. When at least on party meets his residential requirement, either spouse can file in Texas.
Grounds for filing divorce
- Living separately for at least three years
- Irreconcilable differences
- More than three years in mental health faculty
In Texas divorce procedures, other than financial issues, family issues are also discussed. Issues like child custody, alimony, child support, visitation, property division, debt payment, tax and other issues are included. When issues of children are included, they are given the priority. The parents may be asked to attend the parenting program for future security of child.
- Child support involves factors that provide security to the child for future
- Child custody involves factors stating childís preference
- Property division includes division of assets and debts to be made for avoiding future issue
- Alimony depends on factors like stress, mental health condition and other reasons for breakdown of marriage
Divorce Procedures in Texas
- In order to file for divorce in Texas it is necessary that the residential requirements are met and the court grants divorce only on the grounds mentioned.
- Filing spouse must file dissolution papers in Texas court. Texas does not allow divorce for fault. This paper of dissolution is called petition. File the petition with all the necessary documents mentioned as per Texas court.
- Pay the necessary fees to the countyís clerk, after filing the petition. Make sure both the spouse fulfill the necessary information in the petition
- Make the copy of the petition and send it to the court. Serve another copy of petition to the spouse. The spouse should respond the court within 20 days after serving
- Once the response is received from the respondent, both the parties have to wait for the courtís decision
- The judge will grant for divorce by signing the final decree.
- One can also get the divorce papers free of cost from the online website of Texas. There are many websites available that provide free divorce information kit.
Divorce procedures in Texas divorce are one of the easiest and fastest processes of divorce. On an average, the divorce process takes maximum of 61 days to finalize.
File for Divorce
Getting a Divorce
Divorce Guide for Men
Divorce Guide for Women
Divorce Child Support
No Fault Divorce
Low Cost Divorce
Cheap Divorce Lawyers
Divorce Court Records
Divorce in Australia
Divorce in Europe