Divorce Guide

Divorce Guide


Harris county divorce court


People staying in Texas file for divorce in Harris County divorce court. It deals with different family law matter. The court follows Texas laws and rules for divorcing the parties. Harris county divorce is not worse than getting divorced anywhere else. Harris county district court makes the hearing on all the divorce cases taking place in Texas. Both the parties should agree with terms of divorce before filing for it.

Before you start with the divorce process, there are certain laws which you must follow. If both the parties are residing in Houston, Texas and wish to file for divorce there are certain residential requirements and grounds to be followed. Anybody filing for divorce in Harris county divorce court must be residing in Texas for at least six months prior to filing the petition. In order to file in Houston, either of the parties must have lived in Harris County for at least 90 days soon after the petition.

Harris County allows the petitioner to file for fault or no fault divorce. Filing a no fault divorce is popular among the people filling for uncontested divorce. Other no fault grounds includes cruelty, adultery, imprisonment, living apart for at least three years or have mental health issues.

Types of divorce in Harris County divorce court:

If both the parties decide to agree on issues of children, then court will grant the no-fault divorce. It is also called as uncontested divorce. If you cannot agree with the major issues related to children or any other family matter, court will make the divorce on trial basis.

Issues like alimony, child custody, child support, property division and debt payment are discussed in the court. The judge makes decisions on these issues and grants a contested divorce.

When you bring your divorce paperwork to the Harris county divorce court, Process of divorce begins:

  • In order to file for the divorce process, you must file the petition with family law court in Harris County. You can search for the petition requirement in Texas family law code chapter 6.you should also draft other documents mentioned as per Texas law.
  • Fill out the petition form with the lawyer’s assistance. Make two copies of the form. send one copy to the clerk of Harris county district
  • Pay the necessary fees associated with filing the documents and petition form. It can vary from$200-$250 depending on the current fees schedule.
  • Serve your spouse with the petition and other documents .let your spouse sign the waiver of citation form. Once you get the response from your spouse wait for the response of the judge.
  • Judge will review all the documents and make the decision accordingly. If he/she is convinced with the documents, you will receive the divorce decree signed stating that you are divorced.

The process and paperwork involved in each type of divorce vary; however every Harris county divorce court process starts with filing the petition, serving the notice of divorce to spouse and ends with final decree. Whether you stay in Houston, Pearland or elsewhere in Harris County, divorce law requires both the divorcing parties to have lived in Texas for more than six months.


Divorce Guide

Divorce Advice
Divorce Laws
Divorce Mediation
File for Divorce
DIY Divorce
Getting a Divorce
Divorce Guide for Men
Divorce Guide for Women
Divorce Child Support
Divorce Questions
Divorce Counseling
Divorce Alimony
Divorce Custody
Divorce Support
Divorce Rights
No Fault Divorce
Divorce Settlement
Divorce Papers
Fast Divorce
Uncontested Divorce
Quick Divorce
Collaborative Divorce
Divorce Cases
Divorce Paperwork
Divorce Procedures
Low Cost Divorce
Divorce Court
Divorce Petition
Stop Divorce
Cheap Divorce Lawyers Divorce Court Records


Divorce in Australia


Divorce in Europe



About Us : Contact Us : Privacy Policy
© All Rights Reserved, Divorce Guide